Nick Yelloly takes his first win

When race 1 began at Motorland Aragón on Saturday, it was Nick Yelloly who got the best start off the line, leaping past pole-sitter Arthur Pic, and holding on to the lead all race in order to take his first win in Formula Renault 3.5.  Yelloly was lucky to get such a clean start, as behind him Richie Stanaway and Daniil Move stalled on the grid, having qualified 4th and 10th on the grid respectively, with Stanaway's stalled car being hit by Giovanni Venturini, causing all three to retire early.  At turn 1 Alexander Rossi, Nico Müller, Kevin Korjus and Walter Grubmüller collided, necessitating the safety car to come out for 4 laps while the marshals cleared the track.

When the safety car came in, Yelloly was able to pull away from Carlos Huertas and Jules Bianchi behind him, but Pic's day went from bad to worse as he collided with Jake Rosenzweig, causing both drivers to retire.  Huertas and Bianchi's battle for 2nd position ended with Bianchi getting past the Colombian driver, but unable to catch Yelloly with time to pass him. Having finished 2nd, however, the French driver was later disqualified, as a post-race inspection of his Tech 1 Racing car found an irregularity in the stacking of the limited slip differential discs. While the team lodged a protest, the stewards' decision was later upheld, giving Kevin Magnussen 2nd on his Formula Renault 3.5 debut, having only qualified 19th, and bumping Robin Frijns up to 3rd.

Results of Motorland Aragón Race 1

1. Nick Yelloly 46.55.350
2. Kevin Magnussen +12.543
3. Robin Frijns +17.855
4. Carlos Huertas +18.761
5. Nikolay Martsenko +19.385
6. Will Stevens +21.827
7. Marco Sørensen +22.562
8. André Negrão +24.569
9. Sam Bird +25.066
10. Zoël Amberg +26.054
11. Lucas Foresti +26.867
12. Vittorio Ghirelli +36.584
13. Anton Nebylitskiy +37.709
14. Lewis Williamson +40.272
15. Yann Cunha +40.586
16. Walter Grubmüller +1 lap
17. Daniil Move +3 laps
R. Mikhail Aleshin Retired
R. Jake Rosenzweig Retired
R. Arthur Pic Retired
R. Kevin Korjus Retired
R. Richie Stanaway Retired
R. Giovanni Venturini Retired
R. Nico Müller Retired
R. Alexander Rossi Retired
DSQ Jules Bianchi1 Disqualified
1 Jules Bianchi disqualified post-race for an irregularity in the stacking of the limited slip differential discs.

No comments:

Post a Comment