Frijns wins in style

In the second race at Motorland Aragón it was Robin Frijns who won, coming from 3rd on the grid.  At the start Pic had his second disappointing start in 2 days, as Marco Sørensen got the jump on the DAMS driver, passing him for 1st place, having been 2nd on the grid.  Once again there was carnage behind the leaders, as Walter Grubmüller, Nico Müller, Kevin Magnussen, Jake Rosenzweig, Lucas Foresti, Lewis Williamson and race 1 winner Nick Yelloly all crashed at turn 1. While Grubmüller and Yelloly were able to rejoin the field, the rest had their afternoons finished prematurely.  Pic fell further, as he was passed by Frijns and Korjus.

Frijns was then able to catch and pass Sam Bird to take 2nd, but it seemed he was unable to match the pace of Sørensen in front of him, until disaster struck for race leader Sørensen on lap 10, when his car developed mechanical problems, causing him to enter the pits and retire. Frijns was able to pull out a healthy lead ahead of Bird, and went on to win the race.

After what must have been a frustrating weekend for Pic, he was able to show better pace after the pitstops, passing Alexander Rossi for 4th, before catching Kevin Korjus to take 3rd, and a podium finish. Jules Bianchi continued to have a bad weekend, following his disqualification on Saturday, as he had to start from the pitlane when his car failed to start for the warm-up lap, and was subsequently handed a drive-through penalty for having his mechanics on track when the warm-up lap had begun. Nick Yelloly was also handed a 20 second penalty post-race for making a pitstop outside the allotted window.

Results of Motorland Aragón Race 1

1. Robin Frijns 46:38.013
2. Sam Bird +9.908
3. Arthur Pic +10.898
4. Kevin Korjus +15.787
5. Alexander Rossi +21.180
6. Richie Stanaway +23.843
7. Daniil Move +33.602
8. Will Stevens +39.995
9. Giovanni Venturini +46.079
10. André Negrão +46.623
11. Mikhail Aleshin +47.346
12. Carlos Huertas +47.869
13. Jules Bianchi +51.700
14. Anton Nebylitskiy +55.574
15. Nikolay Martsenko +56.528
16. Zoël Amberg +1:02.589
17. Vittorio Ghirelli +1:20.057
18. Nick Yelloly1 +1:19.983
R. Walter Grubmüller Retired
R. Marco Sørensen Retired
R. Yann Cunha Retired
R. Lewis Williamson Retired
R. Kevin Magnussen Retired
R. Jake Rosenzweig Retired
R. Nico Müller Retired
R. Lucas Foresti Retired
1 Nick Yelloly handed a 20-second penalty for making a pitstop outside the allowed window.

No comments:

Post a Comment