Formula Renault 3.5 Round 1 Analysis

Best performance: Robin Frijns
While Robins Frijns did not perform the best in qualifying for race 1, in both races he was superb, taking his car from 12th to 3rd in race 1, while in the race 2 he started 3rd and managed to finish 1st. His performance at Motorland Aragón has given him 1st place in the championship going in to the round at Monaco. In previous years the race at Motorland Aragón has not been the best for predicting the final champion, so it will be interesting if he can keep up his level of performance.

Worst performance: Lewis Williamson
For this season Lewis Williamson is expected to be one of the championship contenders, but at Motorland Aragón he did not show the quality that will be necessary to take the title. For race 1 he qualified only 22nd and while he was able to move up to 14th in the actual race, because of retirements he was actually only 4th to last of the drivers who finished the race. If he had been expecting to do better in race 2 it did not happen for him, as he qualified 24th and was then caught in a collision at turn 1, ending his race. If he is to justify the money that Red Bull have spent on him, he is going to need to show better performances in the remaining races of the season.

Race rating: 7/10
There was some passing for position, but collisions at turn 1 in both races thinned the field and deprived us the chance to see some talented drivers racing each other.  The Dallara T12 chassis looks good, and the ZRS03 and the addition of a Drag Reduction System also seem to be improvements.

Drivers' Championship

1. Robin Frijns 40
2. Nick Yelloly 25
3. Sam Bird 20
4. Kevin Magnussen 18
5. Arthur Pic 15
6. Carlos Huertas 12
7. Kevin Korjus 12
8. Will Stevens 12
9. Nikolay Martsenko 10
10. Alexander Rossi 10
11. Richie Stanaway 8
12. Daniil Move 6
13. Marco Sørensen 6
14. André Negrão 5
15. Giovanni Venturini 2
16. Zoël Amberg 1

Teams' Championship

1. Fortec Motorsports 52
2. Carlin 30
3. Comtec Racing 25
4. ISR 20
5. DAMS 15
6. Lotus 14
7. Tech 1 Racing 12
8. BVM Target 12
9. Arden Caterham 6
10. P1 Motorsport 6
11. International Draco Racing 5
12. Pons Racing 1

No comments:

Post a Comment