Valsecchi on pole again

Davide Valsecchi kept his 100% record from qualifying this season, taking pole again at Bahrain International Circuit.  The DAMS driver posted a time of 1:41.200 for pole, nearly 3 tenths of a second faster than Lotus GP’s Esteban Gutierrez, who will be just behind Valsechhi on the grid.  Given that Valsecchi has already experienced victory in Bahrain, he looks set to repeat the feat in tomorrow’s race.  It was a good session for DAMS, as Valsecchi’s team-mate Felipe Nasr qualified 3rd.

Sepang’s sprint race winner James Calado did not have such a good session, as he set only the 8th fastest lap time of the session.  Thanks to Marcus Ericsson having a 10-place grid penalty, however, he will start 7th.  The Swedish iSport International driver performed better than he did last round, and starting from 17th looks set to cut through the field in front of him.

Luiz Razia, winner of the feature race at Sepang, will start from 8th.  Given that he had previously won at Bahrain, and that he had performed better in free practice, the Brazilian driver will likely be disappointed that he will not start from higher up the grid.

The session was red-flagged at one point as Brendon Hartley, returning to GP2 this round, broke his front wing, leaving debris on the track.  This incident was later investigated by the stewards, and Hartley received a 5-place grid penalty.

Grid for Bahrain Feature Race

1. Davide Valsecchi 1:41.200
2. Esteban Gutiérrez 1:41.479
3. Felipe Nasr 1:41.785
4. Fabio Leimer 1:41.798
5. Johnny Cecotto 1:41.858
6. Stéphane Richelmi 1:41.862
7. James Calado 1:41.939
8. Luiz Razia 1:41.962
9. Max Chilton 1:41.980
10. Rio Haryanto 1:42.097
11. Giedo van der Garde 1:42.139
12. Jolyon Palmer 1:42.156
13. Dani Clos 1:42.158
14. Tom Dillmann 1:42.190
15. Fabio Onidi 1:42.374
16. Rodolfo Gonzalez 1:42.409
17. Marcus Ericsson1 1:41.933
18. Nathanaël Berthon 1:42.427
19. Julian Leal 1:42.456
20. Fabrizio Crestani 1:42.706
21. Stefano Coletti 1:42.853
22. Nigel Melker 1:42.895
23. Simon Trummer 1:43.014
24. Giancarlo Serenelli 1:43.907
25. Ricardo Teixeira 1:44.078
26. Brendon Hartley2 1:42.782

1Marcus Ericsson given a 10-place grid penalty from Malaysia
2Brendon Hartley given a 5-place grid penalty for causing a collision with Giedo van der Garde

No comments:

Post a Comment